AFCON 2023 Qualifier: Peseiro Lists Musa, Osimhen, Simon, 20 others for Sierra Leone

Coach José Santos Peseiro has extended invitations to a selection of players for the upcoming 2023 Africa Cup of Nations qualifying match against the Sierra Leonean team, the Leone Stars, in Monrovia.

The roster includes captain Ahmed Musa, goalkeeper Adebayo Adeleye, defender William Ekong, midfielder Alex Iwobi, and forward Moses Simon, among others.

In particular, in-form forward Victor James Osimhen, who has had an outstanding season with SSC Napoli, scoring 31 goals across various competitions and contributing to their success in the UEFA Champions League and Serie A, leads the list of strikers. 

Osimhen has also recently been honored with the National Award of Member of the Order of the Federal Republic (MFR) by the Nigerian government, and FIFA has recognized his exceptional season by presenting him with a special ball and jersey.

The squad also includes home-based goalkeepers Victor Sochima and Olorunleke Ojo, as well as defenders Ebube Duru and Divine Nwachukwu from Rivers United and Bendel Insurance FC respectively.

Joining them are defenders William Ekong, Kenneth Omeruo, Zaidu Sanusi, Calvin Bassey, Oluwasemilogo Ajayi, and Bright Osayi-Samuel. 

The midfield consists of Wilfred Ndidi, Frank Onyeka, and forwards Samuel Chukwueze, Taiwo Awoniyi, and Kelechi Iheanacho. 

The Super Eagles currently lead their qualification group with nine points from four matches, followed by Guinea Bissau’s Wild Dogs with seven points. Sierra Leone’s Leone Stars, who provided stiff competition to the Eagles in their first qualification match, are in third place with five points. Sao Tome and Principe are at the bottom with only one point and will face the Super Eagles in the final match of the series in September.

The Nigeria-Sierra Leone match will take place at the Samuel Kanyon Doe Stadium in Monrovia on Sunday, 18th June, as Sierra Leone does not have an approved stadium for international matches.

Below is the list of all the invited players:

Goalkeepers: Adebayo Adeleye (Hapoel Jerusalem, Israel); Victor Sochima (Rivers United); Olorunleke Ojo (Enyimba FC)

Defenders: William Ekong (Watford FC, England); Calvin Bassey (Ajax FC, The Netherlands); Kevin Akpoguma (TSG Hoffenheim, Germany); Chidiebube Duru (Rivers United); Oluwasemilogo Ajayi (West Bromwich Albion, England); Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Zaidu Sanusi (FC Porto, Portugal); Bright Osayi-Samuel (Fenerbahce FC, Turkey)

Midfielders: Joseph Ayodele-Aribo (Southampton FC, England); Alex Iwobi (Everton FC, England); Divine Nwachukwu (Bendel Insurance); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Frank Onyeka (Brentford FC, England)

Forwards: Moses Simon (Nantes FC, France); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal FC, Spain); Ademola Lookman (Atalanta FC, Italy); Victor Osimhen (SSC Napoli, Italy); Taiwo Awoniyi (Nottingham Forest, England); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Ahmed Musa (Sivasspor K, Turkey)

Leave a Reply

Our Newsletter

Subscribe to get information about products and discount

    © 2023 Made In Nigeria

    Shopping cart


    No products in the cart.

    Continue Shopping