Tinubu inaugurates 45 ministers, assigns portfolios

President Bola Ahmed Tinubu on Monday inaugurated 45 ministers-designate at the State House Conference Centre in Abuja, 84 days after he took office on May 29, 2023. The President also assigned portfolios to the new ministers, who were confirmed by the Senate on August 7, 2023.

The inauguration ceremony was attended by Vice President Kashim Shettima, Secretary to the Government of the Federation Senator George Akume, and other top government officials. The Special Adviser to Tinubu on Media and Publicity, Aguri Ngelale, read the citation of each minister before they took their oath of office and allegiance.

Some of the notable ministers include former Governor of Rivers State, Nyesom Wike, who is now the Minister of the Federal Capital Territory (FCT); former Governor of Ebonyi State, Senator David Umahi, who is in charge of Works; Festus Keyamo, who heads the Aviation and Aerospace Development Ministry; and former Governor of Osun State, Adegboyega Oyetola, who oversees Transportation.

The President reserved the Petroleum Resources Ministry for himself, as was the practice with previous administrations. He also created some new ministries, such as Marine and Blue Economy, Communications, Innovation and Digital Economy, and Innovation Science and Technology.

Tinubu urged the new ministers to work as a team and deliver on the promises made to Nigerians during the election campaign. He said his administration would focus on improving security, reviving the economy, fighting corruption, and enhancing social welfare.

The new ministers are expected to hold their first Federal Executive Council (FEC) meeting on Wednesday. They will also undergo an induction programme to familiarize themselves with the vision and policies of the government.

Leave a Reply

Our Newsletter

Subscribe to get information about products and discount

    © 2023 Made In Nigeria

    Shopping cart


    No products in the cart.

    Continue Shopping